1. Login to post. This is a public forum, the topics discussed here do not represent RSDU's official view.

Great dashcams range, for Uber, Lyft, Didi and Ola drivers. Click here.

Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Uber vs Taxi

Discussion in 'Melbourne | Uber Drivers Forum' started by WhizMuncher, Oct 14, 2017.

1. Hi, I've been driving taxis for a few months, considering Uber going forward.

uber.png
    From what I can see and please point out where I'm wrong - is that you not only take on more risk with Uber, but it's perhaps even the worse financial decision - almost like Uber is banking on you not doing even as hasty analysis as this.

I've based these calculations on rates that people quote in the forums here.

L5S and Uberx zoom like this.
  2. DriverX

DriverX Active Member

Driving for Uber you will be clearing about $10-12 per hour after you account for all car expenses and fast depreciation, that's on a good day!

Uber offers the flexibility of working your own hours, whenever, but this is where it all ends, its mostly down from there.

Check out this video. It's from the USA but but the situation here in Oz (except perhaps for NSW) is preety much the same:
    https://goo.gl/YyiCqe

KawanaPete likes this.
  3. river view

river view Member

Based on my experience operating Uber X for 6 months in Sydney

Rego and insurance $2K PA
    Depreciation over 3 years $7K PA leaves $8K value in the vehicle with 180Km on the clock
    Maintenance incl tyres $2.5 K PA
    Total $11.5K PA

Approximately 1200Km driven each week or 60000 KM PA for full time driver
    Based on your example I see $2.7 fuel costs which I estimate to be equivalent to a 27Km journey that takes 35 minutes
    Annual Cost per Km = Total above/60000 = 20 cents per Km
    Fuel for Journey based on 10lt/100Km and $1.3 per litre = 13 cents per Km
    Total Vehicle running costs for Journey $8.91

Uber fare estimate is $53
    Less vehicle running costs for Journey ($8.91)